Starboard UK Stand Up Paddle Race Team

starboard team lineup 150

John Hibbard from Starboard UK released the line up for the Stand Up Paddle Race Team with a massive 29 members ! This wil surely kick start the UK race scene in 2010.

Starboard UK are pleased to announce the formation of the UK’s first ever dedicated SUP race team. After a three week selection process that saw over 45 applications received, a team of 29 paddlers has been chosen. Team members are spread across the whole country and range in experience from first timers through to successful international athletes.

Starboard SUP Team Lineup

The official team launch was held at Starboard UK’s HQ and included a paddle initiation in freezing temperatures – it’s hoped the rest of the year will be slightly warmer!!

Team manager John Hibbard says:

“The idea of the team, as our mission statement above explains is to encourage the growth and popularity of SUP racing. The team is made up of a real mix of paddlers, there are some national champions, some Olympic athletes and some total new comers. It is NOT an elite team on a mission to win everything. While we hope all team members will improve their paddle and race skills and we hope some will win races we don’t expect them to all be champions. Each team member has their own personal goals and we will support them to achieve these. We are looking forward to a great 2010 and as a team we hope to spread our passion for the sport far and wide. I would like to thank Starboard for their support of this team and we look forward to many fun races throughout the year”.

The team is split into two groups. 12’6″ and Open. The 12’6″ Team will be racing and paddling on the Starboard 12’6″ race boards and the Open Team will be paddling on the K15.

The team will be training together throughout the year and entering a mixture of local SUP races and national BSUPA events. It is also hoped that the team will have the opportunity to enter international events as well.

Keep an eye out for race results and news from the team as the year progresses.

A full team list is shown below. For more information or partner sponsorship opportunities please contact Team Manager John Hibbard –

Colin Elston – Kent
Dave Birchall – South Shields, Tyne and Wear
Dave Robinson – E Sussex
James Hardy – Kent
Mandy West – Hayling Island
Matt Rodwell – Newquay
Rich Morton – South Wales
Steve Aiken – Hampshire
Scott Harris – Essex
Paul Westgate – Suffolk
Nick Cattaneo – Wiltshire
Mike Merrick – Devon
Jim Richardson – Swansea
Steve West – Hampshire
Annabel – London
Carl Chester
Pete Holiday – Dorset
Marie Buchanan – Devon

Andrew Wickens – Surrey
Jay Manning – Sheppey
Nick Watt – Dorset
Sean Powell – Hampshire
Tony Mackeller – Cornwall
Matt French – Dorset
Adam England – Swansea
John Hibbard – Devon
Anthony Cooper – Devon
Bobby Thatcher – London
Steve Carter – North Devon