SUP Reviews

SPT Locking Roof Rack Straps Review

| Print |
Tuesday, 17 August 2010 02:05

locking-roof-rack-straps150When you spend a lot of hard earned cash on stand up paddle boards or surfboards you want to know that your investment is not going to be stolen from the roof of your car when you are parked up checking the surf. Lockable roof racks have been on the market for many years now, but lockable roof rack straps are the next logical step in protecting your equipment from theft.

Read more...
 

Review of the Kialoa Methane Stand Up Paddle

| Print |
Monday, 24 May 2010 03:54

methane-150We review the Kialoa Methane paddle and find it to our liking. This paddle is slightly narrower than some others on the market, it is targeted at women and surfers, but it has become the distance paddle of choice for a lot of racers.

 

Read more...
 

Review of the Surf Tech Bark 14ft Expedition

| Print |
Thursday, 06 May 2010 04:30

bark14-150Oh my God, this thing glides ! This will probably be the first thing that you think when you get your hands on one of these stand up paddle boards. I have moved up from a 12ft board and I was not expecting the extra 2 ft to make that much difference. How wrong can you be.

When you first get the board you are looking at something that resembles an oversized gun surfboard. It is 14ft long and 30 inches wide. At the thickest point it is 5 inches. The board comes with ten screw inserts, four of which have neoprene covered handles screwed in, there is plenty of options to pimp the board with water bottle carriers, GPS and cargo nets. The handles are on the front of the board, so the first thing I did was to move them to the mid section where I can use them to help put the board on the rack. The board has two leash plugs on the back, and hurrah, a carry handle that is actually in the right place. Well done Bark/Surftech. It comes with an 8 inch fin. At first we thought that was too small and we should put in a more specific distance fin in, but after messing around with a few different configurations (and hearing Simon cursing behind me as he caught every bit of sea weed going), we went back to the standard Surftech fin which seems to work fine, especially when picking up off shore running swells.

Read more...
 

Review of the Curve Lock Down Soft Roof Rack System

| Print |
Thursday, 06 May 2010 03:19

curve-lock-down150The Curve Lock Down roof rack strap system is an excellent bit of kit. It looks a bit more “technical” than other systems I have used, but it help an SUP board and two surf boards on two different types of car (one with roof bars and one without).  It is one of these systems that are described as soft roof racks or soft racks, that do not need an actual rack to work as they either fix onto roof bars or through the doors.

The system comes in a bag that you can sling into your luggage if you are taking a flight. Once you arrive you can have it rigged onto the roof in about 5 minutes.

The first thing that you notice when you open the bag is how well made all the components are. Like all curve kit the quality is very high and all of the straps and pads are solid. The pads are excellent and they will keep you board safe and make sure that the rails do not get crushed. The only thing I would consider is putting a towel inbetween the roof and the straps to prevent sand scratching the roof. The other way of doing this is to make sure that you brush sand off before you put the straps on. A lesson learned there.

Read more...
 

Review of the Kahuna Creations Big Stick

| Print |
Tuesday, 20 April 2010 00:06

Kahuna Creations logoDave Samuel the man behind Brighton's Paddle Round the Pier festival has been looking for something different to do on his skate board. He saw a Kahuna Creations Big Stick and decided the combination of Stand Up Paddle and skateboarding was something he had to try. Dave tells us about it:

Read more...
 

Review of the Curve SUP Board Bag

| Print |
Friday, 03 July 2009 00:45
Curve SUP Board Bag

Curve, a company from New Zealand, have become well established for very high quality surfing accessories. We got hold of one of their SUP board bags and put it through its paces.

Read more...
 

Review of the NorthCore stand up paddle board sling

| Print |
Thursday, 02 July 2009 12:36
NorthCore Sling

NorthCore are a British firm that produce surfing accessories. They are also very eco aware and plant 750 trees to off set thier carbon emissions each year. They have now started to produce some accessories for stand up paddle surfing

Read more...
 

RRD Stand Up Eleven SUP board

| Print |
Tuesday, 16 June 2009 11:07
RRD Stand Up Eleven

Roberto Ricci Designs (RRD) have released an SUP board called the Stand Up Eleven, which you will not be suprised to realise is 11 feet long ! I managed to take this board for a quick distance paddle at West Wittering last month. It is a very stable board, absolutely perfect for beginners to get to grips with paddling, and for them to take into the waves once they have mastered the paddling basics. It has a forgiving softskin deck, which feels good underfoot, and it has a 8.5 inch fin, which means it works well in the surf.

Read more...
 

Rail Runner Protective SUP Tape

| Print |
Tuesday, 07 April 2009 15:49
Rail Runner SUP Tape

Claire Blacklock tries out the Rail Runner Tape that protects your stand up paddle board from getting dings in the rail.

Having a brand new board that looks so damn good, makes you a little more protective when it comes to how you treat it. Although I have a blade protector on my paddle the odd dint still gets through when your mind is elsewhere (like watching a seal eating a fish!!)

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 5
All content © Copyrighted & Exclusive to SUPGlobal.com

Subscribe to our RSS Feed

stand up paddle RSS feedSubscribe in a reader
All content © Copyrighted & Exclusive to SUPGlobal.com
Stand Up Paddle Surfing