SUP Reviews
Paddle Round the Pier Brighton 2008 | Print |
Sunday, 06 July 2008 16:49

Paddle Round the Pier 2008, BrightonThe Paddle Round the Pier Brighton event 2008 featured a Oxbow sponsored Stand Up Paddle race on the Saturday morning, originally the distance was going to be ten miles from Worthing Pier to Brighton West Pier, but due to bad conditions the safety team felt it was not to be.  However, at around 7.30am the wind switched to a more helpful SSW and the decision was made to run the race, but from Shoreham Harbour to West Pier, a distance of five miles.

Read more...
 
Finisterre Base Layer | Print |
Monday, 19 May 2008 14:30

Finisterre is the sort of company that should immediately appeal to all SUPers and surfers. They are based in Cornwall and produce quality technical clothing designed for watermen/women. Not only that, they also have set up their company with sound ecological and sustainable ethics.  No dodgy third world sweat shop products from this company.

Read more...
 
Naish 11'6'' Stand Up Paddle Board | Print |
Sunday, 20 April 2008 08:26

Naish 11'6'' Stand Up Paddle BoardRichard from Naish came over to Stand Up Paddle Surfing HQ last weekend with one of the lovely looking  Naish 11’6’’ stand up paddle boards.  I had been keen to give one a try since seeing some of the footage of the board in action on the Naish website

I really wanted to get the board into waves, as I feel this is the only way of testing a board properly, unfortunately it was blowing a stiff Force 5 onshore, not ideal stand up paddle surfing conditions, but Richard had made the effort to come over so I thought I should make the effort to get out on the water.

Read more...
 
The Outdoors Show 2008 | Print |
Monday, 14 April 2008 15:33

NEC BirminghamThe Outdoors Show is a big event held over three days at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham. Spread over two halls and the lake it had a wide range of outdoor activities catered form hiking, mountain boarding, kayaking and of course stand up paddle boarding.

 

Read more...
 
SurfCo Hawaii Paddle Guard Kit | Print |
Friday, 11 April 2008 14:32

SurfCo Hawaii Paddle Guard KitI have heard carbon paddles described as axes for the damage they can do to the rail of a board.  Being as most people can spend up to £900 on a lovely new board the last thing that you want to do is hack the rail to bits.  As you become more experienced you hack the board less, but there are always those days in stand up paddle surfing when you can accidently take a chunk out of your pride and joy.  We decided to check out SurfCo Hawaii’s Paddle Guard Kit.

Read more...
 
GONG 9' 11'' Electric Stand Up Paddle Board Review | Print |
Thursday, 10 April 2008 13:28

GONG SUP Electric 9'11''I have had my lovely red GONG board for about a month now. I was tempted to do a review straight away, but I resisted that temptation as I really wanted to get some hours on the board, in the surf and on flat water to get a good impression of what it is all about.

GONG SUP have interested me since I found their advertising banner on Nate's Stand Up Paddle Surfing Magazine website. I was really pleased to find a European manufacturer who appeared to be way ahead of the curve in board design. I was  also really pleased when I found out 2XS were the UK distributors, and I called up Simon and got myself an Electric 9'11''.

So did it cut the mustard ? Read on and find out...

Read more...
 
Airhead demo day - "Andy Would Snow" | Print |
Sunday, 06 April 2008 17:22

Stand Up Paddle SurfingApologies to Eddie Aikau for the dreadful pun, but when I called Andy from airhead first thing Sunday morning, the first thing he said was "its on". That does not sound that remarkable until you consider that outside it was blowing a blizzard. Global warming had firmly taken a hold last week in the UK with everyone in t-shirts, and when I woke up at 6.00am on Sunday, it looked dry and bright. As I was logging onto the PC to check out what time we were all meeting a very gray cloud appeared on the horizon and the snow started falling. I have never seen so much snow in such a short time especially on the South Coast of the UK

Read more...
 
Stand Up Paddle Surfing Gower Event | Print |
Thursday, 03 April 2008 14:27

SUP Gower Demo day

Matt from supgower.com sent us a review of his event on the Sunday 30th March 2008.  It sounded like a really event and hopefully we will try and get down to the next one.  Personally I think the Gower is one of the most exciting places to explorer and surf on a stand up paddle board.  Here is Matts review :

Read more...
 
Curve Stand Up Paddle Board Carrying Sling | Print |
Wednesday, 02 April 2008 11:00

Curve SlingSimon from Curve got in touch with us about a new product that they have designed called "Sling". Essentially it is a carrying device with alot of extras to make getting to the beach easier. I took it out on a very windy day to give it a test run. It was blowing about 30 knots off shore, normally this make carrying a stand up paddle board a near impossible task. Would the sling measure up ?

 

Read the full review
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next > End >>

Page 4 of 5
All content © Copyrighted & Exclusive to SUPGlobal.com

Subscribe to our RSS Feed

stand up paddle RSS feedSubscribe in a reader
All content © Copyrighted & Exclusive to SUPGlobal.com
Stand Up Paddle Surfing